Nelson 1-5 Atherton Colleries – Post-Match report


Atherton Colleries continued their fine run of form as they saw off Nelson FC with a rampant 5-1 victory at Victoria Park in their Lancashire FA trophy first round clash on Tuesday evening. Following up from Colls’ 3-2 victory at home to Runcorn Linnets on Saturday, a result which took Michael Clegg’s side up to third place in the Evo-Stik Division One West.


Michael Clegg made five changes following the victory over Runcorn as Josh Messer, Ben Conway, Conor Gaul, Luke Giverin & Adam Farrell were gifted starts at Victoria park.


The hosts got off to a perfect start as Nathan Webb fired the ball past Dale Spooner in the Atherton goal just seconds into the contest (2′)

Following Webb’s early strike to put the host ahead, Colls soon picked themselves up, and with a great spell of possession they away side levelled up the match at 1-1 as Luke Giverin slotted home as Vinny Bailey’s powerful effort was parried by Marcel in the Nelson goal (1-1)

Colls’ frontman Jordan Cover almost gifted the away side the lead as he saw his header strike the crossbar following an expert cross from Adam Farrell. The away side were once again threatening to take the lead as Matt Grimshaw weaved his way through the Nelson degence only to see his shot cleared off the line by Nelson’s goalscorer Nathan Webb.

Cover had another chance to give the away side the lead just minutes before HT, but he saw his shot deflected into the path of Luke Giverin, but he steered his shot just wide of Marcel’s left-hand post.


The hosts were fortunate not to be 3-4 goals behind in the first 45 minutes as Colls’ created a number of openings, as the hosts rode their luck at times to head into the interval with the score-line level at 1-1.


Following those missed opportunities in the first half, Colls’ manager Michael Clegg would’ve had a lot to say in the dressing room during the interval, and whatever was said by the Coll’s gaffer certainly was took onboard by his players as they pretty much picked up where they left off in the first 45 minutes.

The away side continued to dominate possesion as they created two great opportunities through Adam Farrell as a goal for the away side was made more and more inevitable as the match unfolded.

In the 59th minute, the away side finally broke Nelson’s resistance as Jordan Cover latched onto a delightful lofted through-ball as the speedy forward slotted the ball home with ease as Atherton Colls took the lead. But, the floodgates soon were about to open at the Victoria Stadium.. (1-2)

It was Jordan Cover once again, as the forward gained confidence from his first goal of the night as he doubled his tally to gift the away side a two-goal lead as Cover fired the ball past Marcel in the Nelson goal. (1-3)

The away side were running riot at the Victoria Stadium as Vinny Bailey fired the ball into the roof of the net as Colls opened up a healthy 4-1 lead, with three goals in the space of four minutes. Atherton almost made it four goals in five minutes as Jordan Cover glanced his header just wide of the post as he searched for yet another hat-trick in an Atherton Colleries shirt.

In the last 15 minutes, Michael Clegg made three changes as Luke Giverin, Vinny Bailey & Dave Sherlock made way for Ben Hardcastle, Glenn Matthews & Ben Conway.

Cover was gifted another great opportunity to claim his hat-trick, but he scooped the ball just over the top of the Nelson goal. As the last five minutes commenced, Colls weren’t finished as Adam Farrell completed the rout as he fired the ball home as Sigworth cut the ball back beautifully to find his team-mate.


As the final whistle was blown at Victoria Park, it was yet another dominant display from Atherton Colleries as they continue to enjoy a superb run of form with plenty of goals, and a decent defensive display, despite going a goal down in the opening 90 seconds. Next up for Colls, They take on Runcorn Linnets again at the Skuna Stadium, this time in the FA Trophy.

Atherton Colleries line-up

1 Dale Latham

2 Callum Spooner

3 Josh Messer

4 Dave Sherlock

5 Matt Grimshaw

6 Vinny Bailey

7 Conor Gaul

8 Luke Giverin

9 Jordan Cover

10 Adam Farrell

11 James Sigsworth


12 Ben Conway

14 Ben Hardcastle

15 Glenn Matthews

Nelson FC line-up

1 Marcel

2 Ashley Brierley

3 Alexander Grice

4 Nathan Gibson

5 Charlie Lloyd

6 Samuel Dickinson

7 Taylor Kenneth

8 Jake Lloyd

9 William Harris

10 Nathan Webb

11 Jake Townsend


18 Martin Trickett

17 Mark Sharples

14 Wayne Morrison

15 Daniel Fagan

16 James Wolfenden

MAN OF THE MATCH – James Sigworth

Photography courtesy of David Featherstone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here