Wade’s European Championship glory

James Wade picks up his first PDC ranking major title since 2011 as he’s crowned the Unibet European Champion. Photo : Kelly Deckers /PDC

James Wade was victorious at the Unibet European Championship at the Westfalenhalle on Sunday as ‘The Machine’ picked up his first PDC major ranking title since 2011 as he defeated Simon Whitlock 11-8 in an enthralling final. There was no separating the pair from the very first leg up until the third interval as they both traded pin-point finishes, maximums and consistent heavy scoring. Even after 16 legs, there was no way of separating the pair, not just in the scoreline, but the averages were identical, same amoun of maximums were hit, and the finishing statistics were also identical.

But, James Wade being James Wade, managed to find another gear to find an ever so crucial break of throw in the 18th leg as ‘The Machine’ produced a 13-dart leg to move within a leg of the match at 10-8, and leaving Whitlock an absolute mountain to climb. It wasn’t a great final leg for the Aussie as Wade clinched the title with an 18-dart hold to secure his first PDC ranking major title for over seven years.

Earlier on in the evening, Wade managed to survive three match darts as he edged out Germany’s no.1 Max Hopp in a thriller. Hopp has been very impressive over the course of the event, but Wade just found a way to grind out results, and produced the goods when it was needed. The crowd played a big part in Hopp’s success this weekend, but Wade managed to block that out as he went onto the final. Joe Cullen was also very close to reaching his first PDC ranking major final as he surrendered a 10-7 lead as Simon Whitlock reeled off four legs on-the-spin to deny the Bradford man a run to the final. The Aussie piled in an impressive 110 finish under severe pressure to secure his place in the final.

Joe Cullen came mightily close to reaching his first PDC televised major final. Photo : Kelly Deckers /PDC

Unibet European Championship – RESULTS


Simon Whitlock 11-10 Joe Cullen

James Wade 11-10 Max Hopp


James Wade 11-8 Simon Whitlock


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here