Anderson’s Barnsley delight as he wins Players Championship Two!

Anderson's Barnsley delight as he wins Players Championship Two!
Gary Anderson defeats Peter Wright for the 19th time as he is victorious in Barnsley.

Gary Anderson was victorious in Barnsley on Sunday afternoon after he won the Players Championship event number two.

He put in a mind-boggling display in the Final in a 6-1 rout over the World number Three Peter Wright in what must of been one of the quickest Players Championship finals ever played as he averaged a breath-taking 115.15 in a 6-1 victory over his fellow compatriot in what was a ludicrous game of darts, Wright averaged 107.78 himself and had just TWO attempts at a double during the entire match.

Anderson hit FOUR maximums, a 177 and a 171 which included six perfect darts as he cruised to victory. Anderson dropped just 13 legs in his seven matches to win the £10,000 prize.

As for Wright it was his fourth final out of the last seven PDC floor events in which he has competed in as he won three out of six of the Coral UK Open qualifiers earlier this month.

Anderson dropped just five legs in his opening three matches as he overcame Brendan Dolan, Berry van Peer and Steve West, before a 6-4 win over Benito van de Pas put the world number two into the quarter-finals.

There, he defeated former World Youth Champion Michael Smith 6-1 before then losing only two legs in a superb semi-final win over Jelle Klaasen.

Klaasen in the Quarter-Finals was involved in a stunning match with Raymond van Barneveld in which he won 6-4 averaging 103 with all ten legs won in 15 darts and under.

There was a Nine-Darter for ‘Jackpot’ Adrian Lewis despite losing 6-3 to John Henderson in Round One, Robert Owen reached the Last eight for the first time as he just lost out in a last leg decider to Daryl Gurney.

Also, 19-year old Ted Evetts was in impressive form as he reached the last 16 for the first time after wins against Jeffrey de Zwaan, Joe Murnan and Jan Dekker before eventually losing out on on-song Raymond van Barneveld.

After the first two Players Championship events, the race for the 2017 World Matchplay has begun, the criteria is the top 16 in the PDC order of merit and the top 16 in the Pro Tour order of merit. Currently the Australian Kyle Anderson is in 16th position but there is a lot of darts to be thrown between now and July.

Anderson's Barnsley delight as he wins Players Championship Two!
2017 World Matchplay qualification table.
Source : Burton DeWitt

Players Championship Two

Sunday February 26, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round

Peter Wright (1) 6-0 Ricky Williams

Vincent van der Voort 6-1 John Jnr Norman

Jamie Caven (32) 6-5 Andy Jenkins

Shaun Griffiths 6-3 Jonathan Worsley

Cristo Reyes (16) 6-2 Bryan De Hoog

Aden Kirk 6-3 Paul Harvey

Steve Beaton (17) 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp

Wayne Jones 6-4 Richie Burnett

James Wade (8) 6-0 Jamie Bain

Yordi Meeuwisse 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Justin Pipe (25)

William O’Connor 6-2 Andy Parsons

Kim Huybrechts (9) 6-4 Kirk Shepherd

Simon Stevenson 6-0 Ray Campbell

Paul Rowley 6-4 Robert Thornton (24)

Zoran Lerchbacher 6-3 Mark Walsh

Darren Johnson 6-3 Simon Whitlock (5)

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Mike De Decker

Ronny Huybrechts (28) 6-2 Andrew Gilding

Darron Brown 6-4 Ross Twell

Joe Cullen (12) 6-4 Jonny Clayton

Devon Petersen 6-2 Max Hopp

Daryl Gurney (21) 6-4 Scott Taylor

Richard North 6-3 Simon Preston

Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Dave Chisnall (4)

Stuart Kellett 6-5 Stephen Burton

James Richardson 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena (29)

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Vincent Kamphuis

Robert Owen 6-5 Stephen Bunting (13)

Peter Jacques 6-5 Ricky Evans

Matthew Dennant 6-4 James Wilson (20)

Rob Cross 6-5 Mickey Mansell

Joe Murnan 6-3 Mensur Suljovic (2)

Ted Evetts 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan

Jan Dekker 6-4 Christian Kist (31)

Harry Robinson 6-2 Jeffrey De Graaf

Kyle Anderson (15) 6-1 Keegan Brown

Raymond van Barneved 6-4 Peter Hudson

Chris Dobey (18) 6-4 Jamie Lewis

Martin Schindler 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse

Alan Norris (7) 6-2 Chris Quantock

Ryan Searle 6-0 Tony Newell

Terry Temple 6-5 Darren Webster (26)

Diogo Portela 6-4 Wes Newton

Jelle Klaasen (10) 6-4 Jim Brown

Matt Clark 6-4 Andy Hamilton

Mervyn King (23) 6-2 Mark Barilli

Mick Todd 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Steve Hine 6-5 Ian White (6)

David Pallett 6-5 Prakash Jiwa

Mick McGowan 6-2 Robbie Green (27)

Kevin Painter 6-5 Matthew Edgar

Michael Smith (11) 6-3 John Bowles

Dennis Smith 6-2 Brian Woods

John Henderson 6-3 Adrian Lewis (22) – Adrian Lewis hits nine-dart finish

Jimmy Hendriks 6-3 Adam Hunt

Benito van de Pas (3) 6-4 Steve Lennon

Ryan Meikle 6-1 Ryan Palmer

Richie Corner 6-5 Josh Payne (3)

Maik Langendorf 6-3 Andy Boulton

Gary Anderson (14) 6-1 Brendan Dolan

Berry van Peer 6-4 Scott Darbyshire

Steve West (19) 6-3 Lee Bryant

Mark Webster 6-0 Sven Groen

Second Round

Peter Wright 6-5 Vincent van der Voort

Jamie Caven 6-2 Shaun Griffiths

Cristo Reyes 6-4 Aden Kirk

Wayne Jones 6-4 Steve Beaton

James Wade 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse

Paul Nicholson 6-2 William O’Connor

Simon Stevenson 6-5 Kim Huybrechts

Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Paul Rowley

Darren Johnson 6-1 Ronnie Baxter

Ronny Huybrechts 6-0 Darron Brown

Devon Petersen 6-3 Joe Cullen

Daryl Gurney 6-2 Richard North

Stuart Kellett 6-4 Antonio Alcinas

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 James Richardson

Robert Owen 6-3 Peter Jacques

Rob Cross 6-3 Matthew Dennant

Ted Evetts 6-2 Joe Murnan

Jan Dekker 6-3 Harry Robinson

Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Kyle Anderson

Chris Dobey 6-3 Martin Schindler

Alan Norris 6-3 Ryan Searle

Terry Temple 6-4 Diogo Portela

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Matt Clark

Mick Todd 6-5 Mervyn King

David Pallett 6-4 Steve Hine

Kevin Painter 6-2 Mick McGowan

Michael Smith 6-4 Dennis Smith

John Henderson 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks

Benito van de Pas 6-5 Ryan Meikle

Richie Corner 6-5 Maik Langendorf

Gary Anderson 6-2 Berry van Peer

Steve West 6-1 Mark Webster

Third Round

Peter Wright 6-1 Jamie Caven

Cristo Reyes 6-4 Wayne Jones

James Wade 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Simon Stevenson

Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Darren Johnson

Daryl Gurney 6-3 Devon Petersen

Stuart Kellett 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Robert Owen 6-4 Rob Cross

Ted Evetts 6-0 Jan Dekker

Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Chris Dobey

Terry Temple 6-3 Alan Norris

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Mick Todd

David Pallett 6-5 Kevin Painter

Michael Smith 6-3 John Henderson

Benito van de Pas 6-4 Richie Corner

Gary Anderson 6-2 Steve West

Fourth Round

Peter Wright 6-5 Cristo Reyes

James Wade 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher

Daryl Gurney 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts

Robert Owen 6-4 Stuart Kellett

Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Ted Evetts

Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Terry Temple

Michael Smith 6-5 David Pallett

Gary Anderson 6-4 Benito van de Pas


Peter Wright 6-5 James Wade

Daryl Gurney 6-5 Robert Owen

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Gary Anderson 6-1 Michael Smith


Peter Wright 6-1 Daryl Gurney

Gary Anderson 6-2 Jelle Klaasen


Gary Anderson 6-1 Peter Wright

Photo’s courtesy of Lawrence Lustig / PDC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here