Sunday, September 26, 2021

Chisnall and Aspinall impress on day two in Gibraltar

Must Read

Tom Beresford
Sports journalist. Non-League football reporter. YouTuber, presenter, podcast host. Previously heard on FiveLive and Love Sport Radio. Managed by Epic Sports Management

Embed from Getty Images

Dave Chisnall and Nathan Aspinall were among the two star performers on day two of the 2019 Gibraltar Darts Trophy, the final European Tour event of the year.

For Stockport ace Aspinall, it was a breathtaking performance as ‘the Asp’ edged out Ryan Joyce in a 6-4 win, and arguably the game of the day, in terms of quality. Aspinall recorded an average of 108.14 compared to Joyce’s 100.79.

Between the pair, just three darts at a double were unsuccessful, with Joyce taking four out of five of his opportunities compared to Aspinall’s 6/9 conversion rate. In the opening stages, there was no separating the pair, and with the match evenly poised at 4-4, Aspinall’s five-star qualities shone through as he produced legs of 12 and 11 to see out the match, and his place in round three, where he’ll face either Michael van Gerwen or Jose de Sousa.

As for Chisnall, the Morecambe-based star, who’s just signed a brand-new deal with Harrows Darts, it was a hard-fought win for ‘Chizzy’ over Jeffrey de Zwaan. In terms of quality from both players, it was intensifying and entertaining.

Despite Chisnall’s high averages throughout the entirety of the match, de Zwaan stuck in there admirably as he continued to hold on to his own throw, despite being under intense pressure from Chisnall. As both players continued to hold firm in terms of holding their own throw, Chisnall managed to produce a 14-dart leg to sneak into the third round of action.

Chisnall managed to record an average of 103.41, and he’ll face either Dimitri van den Bergh or Jermaine Wattimena in round three on Sunday afternoon. As for de Zwaan, it was an impressive performance as he just fell short of securing his sixth consecutive win over Chisnall.

Elsewhere in the afternoon session, James Wade eased to a 6-2 victory over Paul Rowley, Krzysztof Ratajski saw off Steve Beaton 6-3, Kim Huybrechts, who’s looking to find some decent form, saw off Wales’ Jonny Clayton 6-3. Rob Cross and Daryl Gurney booked their places in the last 16, after completing victories over Krzysztof Kcuik (6-3) and Carl Wilkinson (6-4) respectively. Finally, Michael Smith eased to a 6-1 win over Danny Noppert.

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2019

Day two: Afternoon Session

Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Ryan Joyce

James Wade 6-2 Paul Rowley

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Steve Beaton

Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Jonny Clayton

Rob Cross 6-3 Krzysztof Kcuik

Daryl Gurney 6-4 Carl Wilkinson

Dave Chisnall 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Michael Smith 6-1 Danny Noppert

Day two: Evening session (18:15 BST)

Ian White vs Michael Rosenauer

Jermaine Wattimena vs Dimitri van den Bergh

Mensur Suljovic vs Wessel Nijman

Michael van Gerwen vs Jose de Sousa

Peter Wright vs Dyson Parody

Joe Cullen vs Ritchie Edhouse

Glen Durrant vs Chris Dobey

Gerwyn Price vs David Francis

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News